...it's about YOU and YOUR FAMILY

What is SWAPA…

Southwest Airlines Pilots Association (SWAPA) is the sole bargaining unit for more than 9,300 Pilots of Southwest Airlines. It was formed in 1978 to be the “voice” of the Pilots, protecting the profession and ensuring its Pilots have solid and fair work rules. Our SWAPA Pilot working agreement, what we refer to as our “contract” or CBA (Collective Bargaining Agreement), affects not only our Pilots, but every Pilot’s household. The SWAPA Executives, Board of Directors (also known as Domicile Representatives), committee members and staff work constantly to safeguard our Pilots’ careers from all aspects. This includes protecting and enhancing what our Pilots bring home in terms of pay and benefits on the 5th and the 20th of each month in addition to critical components of our contract such as retirement and quality of life. In short, SWAPA ensures that Southwest Airlines follows the contract from the time a Pilot is hired to the time he or she retires. Above all, SWAPA provides for the safe operation of the airline that transports millions of passengers each year.  

Who We Are…

SWAPAfamily was created to bring Pilots and their families together to meet one another and share information about SWAPA programs and services as well as our current situation in contract negotiations. Your SWAPA leadership is committed to our members and building lasting relationships and unity will ultimately help us achieve the best quality of life for our families.

What We Do…

SWAPAfamily is currently hosting family-friendly and grassroots events around the country near Southwest Airlines domiciles. It is a wonderful opportunity to get to know each other, find out what’s going on and get answers to questions you may have about Southwest Airlines. SWAPA services and programs go far beyond contract negotiations and enforcement so we want you to know who to call or where to go to find information in the event you need help. 

Meet the Execs

Jon Weaks // President

Captain Jon Weaks is the President of the Southwest Airlines Pilots Association (SWAPA). He took over the two-year term that began in January 2015 after the resignation of the former SWAPA President. A Zephyr Cove, Nevada resident, Captain Weaks has been a pilot at Southwest Airlines since 1990 and is currently based out of Las Vegas (LAS). Captain Weaks previously held the position of SWAPA President from 2001-2002 and served on the SWAPA Board of Directors as domicile representative for Oakland (OAK) from 1998-1999 and as a domicile representative for Las Vegas in 2015. Captain Weaks was born and raised in Plainview, Texas and attended Texas Tech University, where he earned a BBA in Finance. 

Mike Panebianco // Vice President

Captain Mike Panebianco is the Vice President of the Southwest Airlines Pilots’ Association (SWAPA). He began serving his two-year term in January 2016. A Syracuse, New York native, Mike joined Southwest Airlines in 2000, and is a currently based in Dallas (DAL). Captain Panebianco previously served on the SWAPA Board of Directors as the Baltimore (BWI) domicile representative from 2015-2016. As Vice President and Director of Operations, Mike is directly involved with committee and staff personnel to facilitate project and operational initiatives, both internally, and in conjunction with Southwest Airlines. Captain Panebianco is a 1993 Graduate of Embry Riddle Aeronautical University with a BS in Aeronautical Science and his prior flying experience includes charter, corporate, and commuter aviation on his path to joining Southwest Airlines. Captain Panebianco lives in the Dallas area with his wife, Kari, and two sons, Anthony, and Jackson. In his spare time he volunteers as a coach and mentor with counter-bullying efforts and conflict resolution programs to help individuals build interpersonal skills and self-protection abilities.

Brian Fitting // 2nd Vice President

Captain Brian T. Fitting is the second vice president of the Southwest Airlines Pilots Association (SWAPA). He was elected to his current position the fall of 2018 to serve the 2019-2020 term. Fitting began his service to SWAPA in the fall of 2014, when he was elected to serve as the domicile representative for Oakland for the 2015-2016 two-year period. Fitting was then re-elected in 2016 to serve his second consecutive two-year term as the Oakland domicile representative. Fitting was a part of the group of SWAPA board members, who in 2015 led the transformation of the association, which contributed to the reemergence of a stronger, more unified SWAPA. Captain Fitting joined Southwest Airlines in September 2007 and was a First Officer based in Oakland until upgrading to Captain in March 2018. He holds an FAA Airline Transport Pilot License with Boeing 737 type rating.

Meet the Board of Directors

Sean Sullivan

ATL Chair
ssullivan@swapa.org

Mark Hatten

ATL Vice Chair
mhattenk@swapa.org

Tom Bake

BWI Chair
tbake@swapa.org

Mike Baker

BWI Vice Chair
mbaker@swapa.org

Marc Valadez

DAL Chair
mvaladez@swapa.org

Chris Baker

DAL Vice Chair
cbaker@swapa.org

Rob Odom

DEN Chair
rodom@swapa.org

Jon Thompson

DEN Vice Chair
jthompsoni@swapa.org

Howie Dulmage

HOU Chair
hdulmage@swapa.org

Doyle Hill

HOU Vice Chair
dhill@swapa.org

Matt Kenworthy

LAS Chair
mkenworthy@swapa.org

Dennis O'leary

LAS Vice Chair
doleary@swapa.org

Keith Hurley

MCO Chair
khurley@swapa.org

Dan Mosher

MCO Vice Chair
dmosher@swapa.org

Dave Kudish

MDW Chair
dkudish@swapa.org

Ron Welsh

MDW Vice Chair
rwelsh@swapa.org

Jayson Huntsman

Oak Chair
jhuntsman@swapa.org

Rob Allmart

OAK Vice Chair
rallmart@swapa.org

Michael Plumer

PHX Chair
mplumer@swapa.org

Luke LeBeau

PHX Vice Chair
llebeau@swapa.org

Meet SWAPAfamily

Jean Peck

jpeck@swapa.org
770-313-0045

Greg Jones

gjones@swapa.org
405-420-5995

Ron Scheibe

rscheibe@swapa.org