...it's about YOU and YOUR FAMILY

What is SWAPA…

Southwest Airlines Pilots Association (SWAPA) is the sole bargaining unit for more than 9,300 Pilots of Southwest Airlines. It was formed in 1978 to be the “voice” of the Pilots, protecting the profession and ensuring its Pilots have solid and fair work rules. Our SWAPA Pilot working agreement, what we refer to as our “contract” or CBA (Collective Bargaining Agreement), affects not only our Pilots, but every Pilot’s household. The SWAPA Executives, Board of Directors (also known as Domicile Representatives), committee members and staff work constantly to safeguard our Pilots’ careers from all aspects. This includes protecting and enhancing what our Pilots bring home in terms of pay and benefits on the 5th and the 20th of each month in addition to critical components of our contract such as retirement and quality of life. In short, SWAPA ensures that Southwest Airlines follows the contract from the time a Pilot is hired to the time he or she retires. Above all, SWAPA provides for the safe operation of the airline that transports millions of passengers each year.  

Who We Are…

SWAPAfamily was created to bring Pilots and their families together to meet one another and share information about SWAPA programs and services as well as our current situation in contract negotiations. Your SWAPA leadership is committed to our members and building lasting relationships and unity will ultimately help us achieve the best quality of life for our families.

What We Do…

SWAPAfamily is currently hosting family-friendly and grassroots events around the country near Southwest Airlines domiciles. It is a wonderful opportunity to get to know each other, find out what’s going on and get answers to questions you may have about Southwest Airlines. SWAPA services and programs go far beyond contract negotiations and enforcement so we want you to know who to call or where to go to find information in the event you need help. 

Meet the Execs

Jon Weaks // President

Captain Jon Weaks is the President of the Southwest Airlines Pilots Association (SWAPA). He took over the two-year term that began in January 2015 after the resignation of the former SWAPA President. A Zephyr Cove, Nevada resident, Captain Weaks has been a pilot at Southwest Airlines since 1990 and is currently based out of Las Vegas (LAS). Captain Weaks previously held the position of SWAPA President from 2001-2002 and served on the SWAPA Board of Directors as domicile representative for Oakland (OAK) from 1998-1999 and as a domicile representative for Las Vegas in 2015. Captain Weaks was born and raised in Plainview, Texas and attended Texas Tech University, where he earned a BBA in Finance. 

Michael Santoro // Vice President

Captain Michael Santoro is the Vice President of the Southwest Airlines Pilots Association (SWAPA). As Vice President and director of operations, Captain Santoro is one of only three SWAPA board members elected atlarge by the SWAPA membership. His previous union work includes two, two-year terms as a Baltimore domicile representative helping Pilots navigate the contract and representing them during visits to the Chief Pilots’ Office, and two years as a Contract Administration Committee member, defending our contract and our Pilots from violations and discipline issues. In addition to overseeing the association’s committees and professional staff, his responsibilities as vice president include assisting the association’s president in carrying out all duties necessary to conduct the association’s business of representing the pilots of Southwest Airlines. Captain Santoro has been a Southwest Airlines pilot for more than 13 years. Prior to Southwest, he worked in the regional airlines for Continental Express/ExpressJet. Born and raised in central Maine, he attended College at Daniel Webster College and graduated in 1998 with degrees in Aviation Management, Business Administration, and Marketing. He currently lives in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, with his wife and three sons, where he spends his free time enjoying all the fun aspects of raising his boys to include coaching their soccer and basketball teams.

Brian Fitting // 2nd Vice President

Captain Brian T. Fitting is the second vice president of the Southwest Airlines Pilots Association (SWAPA). He was elected to his current position the fall of 2018 to serve the 2019-2020 term. Fitting began his service to SWAPA in the fall of 2014, when he was elected to serve as the domicile representative for Oakland for the 2015-2016 two-year period. Fitting was then re-elected in 2016 to serve his second consecutive two-year term as the Oakland domicile representative. Fitting was a part of the group of SWAPA board members, who in 2015 led the transformation of the association, which contributed to the reemergence of a stronger, more unified SWAPA. Captain Fitting joined Southwest Airlines in September 2007 and was a First Officer based in Oakland until upgrading to Captain in March 2018. He holds an FAA Airline Transport Pilot License with Boeing 737 type rating.

Meet the Board of Directors

Sean Sullivan

ATL Chair
ssullivan@swapa.org

Brian Hagedorn

ATL Vice Chair
bhagedorn@swapa.org

Tom Bake

BWI Chair
tbake@swapa.org

Mike Baker

BWI Vice Chair
mbaker@swapa.org

Matthew Wright

DAL Chair
mwright@swapa.org

Craig Schmidt

DAL Vice Chair
cschmidt@swapa.org

Rob Odom

DEN Chair
rodom@swapa.org

Jon Thompson

DEN Vice Chair
jthompsoni@swapa.org

Doyle Hill

HOU Chair
dhill@swapa.org

Rudy Hachtel

HOU Vice Chair
rhachtel@swapa.org

Dennis O'leary

LAS Chair
doleary@swapa.org

Matt Affenita

LAS Vice Chair
maffenita@swapa.org

Chris Hall

LAX Chair
chall@swapa.org

Andrew Fischenberg

LAX Vice Chair
afischenberg

Scott Thatcher

MCO Chair
sthatcher@swapa.org

David Peck

MCO Vice Chair
dpeck@swapa.org

Ron Welsh

MDW Chair
rwelsh@swapa.org

Laurin Toriello

MDW Vice Chair
ltoriello@swapa.org

Rob Allmart

OAK Chair
rallmart@swapa.org

Douglas Booher

OAK Vice Chair
dbooher@swapa.org

Luke LeBeau

PHX Chair
llebeau@swapa.org

Mike Vastano

PHX Vice Chair
mvastano@swapa.org

Meet SWAPAfamily

Jean Peck

jpeck@swapa.org
770-313-0045

Greg Jones

gjones@swapa.org
405-420-5995

Ron Scheibe

rscheibe@swapa.org
303-550-7418